Liquor Licensing

Local liquor license approval is required and begins with the Town Clerk's Office. There are links to all forms below, along with specific requirements.  If you still have questions, email us.
  
Note:

  • It is critical that you ensure you visit the State website for any updates to Liquor Laws, Rules and Regulations.  It is your responsibility to be in compliance.
  • Any changes to your manager, ownership, premise or serving boundaries, etc. must be reported. Report of Changes.
  • Compliance checks and Inspections are performed by the Police Department and the Colorado Department of Revenue.

Mail all applications and fees to:
Castle Rock Deputy Town Clerk
Attn:  Lisa Anderson
100 N. Wilcox St.
Castle Rock, CO  80104
 
Overview
Town Council appoints a hearing officer who is a licensed attorney with the state of Colorado to act as the Liquor Licensing Authority. The Liquor Licensing Authority conducts hearings for the approval of applications for new liquor licenses. Hearings concerning the possible suspension or revocation of a liquor license are also held before the hearing officer.  
 


Hearings

Current Agenda
Scheduled as needed 
Town Hall
100 N. Wilcox St.
Castle Rock, CO 80104

Meetings are open to the public and one or more Councilmembers may attend.

Hearing officer

Richard "Mac" McManus 

Approval process

Liquor licensing hearing officer:

  • Approves New liquor licenses
  • Conducts investigations and holds hearings as required by law for suspension or revocation of such licenses.
  • Hearings are held as needed.

Town Clerk's Office approves, then sends to State for approval:

Visit the Secretary of State website for all information regarding Liquor Licensing 
  


  
New liquor license
Applications must be held for 30 days before they are heard by the Liquor Licensing Authority, per State law. This 30 days begins once an application is received and considered complete by the Town Clerk's Office.

Ensure you comply with Multiple Interests (i.e., you may not have more than one Retail Liquor Store License.)

We try to accommodate applicants by scheduling a hearing as quickly as possible; however, State's processing time may take longer, and we must wait for State approval prior to issuing a local liquor license. Additionally, if it is new construction, we must have your certificate of occupancy and inspections completed prior to issuing your license; however, we can issue a stocking license to enable you to order and stock alcohol.
 
A public hearing notice must be published in the newspaper and posted at the business at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
 
Before a hearing can be set, the applicant must submit to the Town Clerk's Office:

  1.  Application - Include all required attachments (or 3.2 percent beer license application)
  2. Fill out if you are a sole proprietor or if you are a husband and wife partnership
  3. Individual history report for a background check for each officer of the business
  4. Copies of:
    • Drivers license
    • Local sales tax and business license
    • TTB permit (if Brewpub license)
  5. Fingerprints for each officer of the business
    Fingerprints are completed by the Police Department on Tuesdays and Thursdays.
    Tell them it is for a liquor license, so they use our forms, then return with your application.
  6. Diagram 8 1/2" x 11" of Licensed Premise marked as follows:  
    • All levels, if applicable
    • Dimensions
    • Exits
    • Kitchen area
    • Liquor storage area
    • Outdoor areas including fences, etc.
    • Outline entire area that is to be licensed in BOLD
  7. Three checks payable to: (See Fee Schedule)
    • Town of Castle Rock - application fee and license fee
    • Town of Castle Rock- fingerprint fee ($38.50 per person)
    • Colorado Department of Revenue - application fee, license fee, $100 concurrent review fee, if desired*
      *Concurrent Review is when the application is sent to the State, so they begin their process during the 30-day waiting period once it is determined to be complete by the Town Clerk's Office
Prior to the hearing, the applicant:
  • Petition and report for the district in which the business is located showing needs and desires of the neighborhood (see petition companies listed below)
  • Certification that all servers have completed TIPS training (see petition companies listed below to obtain TIPS training)
These petition companies are frequently used for your information if you wish to use them:
  • Oedipus, Inc., 303-661-0638
  • Liquor Licensing Professionals, 719-390-8844, email
  • Esquire Petitioning Services, 303-331-8600, email
Upon approval by the Liquor Licensing Authority and the Colorado Department of Revenue as well as confirmation of a certificate of occupancy and compliance, a license will be issued. 

Master files:
If this is a Master File, submit a letter from the State confirming your Master file. 

If you have a Master File and have already submitted fingerprints to the State, you do not need to submit fingerprints or the fingerprint fee to the Town Clerk's Office.
 

Transfer liquor license

Upon a complete application and attachments being submitted, the Clerk's Office will do a preliminary review to ensure it is complete. Once it is determined that the application is complete, a Temporary Liquor License may be obtained to serve alcohol if the request is submitted along with the additional fee (see below).

Once the state issues the liquor license, we will then issue the local liquor license and mail to the applicant.
 
 The applicant must submit to the Town Clerk's Office:
  1. Application - Include all required attachments (or 3.2% beer license application)
  2. Fill out if you are a sole proprietor or if you are a husband and wife partnership
  3. Individual history report for a background check for each officer of the business
  4. Copies of:
  5. Fingerprints for each officer of the business
    Fingerprints are completed by the Police Department on Tuesdays and Thursdays.
    Tell them it is for a liquor license, so they use our forms, then return with your application.
  6. Diagram 8 1/2" x 11" of Licensed Premise marked as follows:  
    • All levels, if applicable
    • Dimensions
    • Exits
    • Kitchen area
    • Liquor storage area
    • Outdoor areas including fences, etc.
    • Outline entire area that is to be licensed in BOLD
  7. Three checks payable to: (See Fee Schedule)
    • Town of Castle Rock - application fee and license fee (+$100 for Temporary license if desired)
    • Town of Castle Rock- fingerprint fee ($38.50 per person)
    • Colorado Department of Revenue - application fee, license fee
Upon approval by the Liquor Licensing Authority and the Colorado Department of Revenue as well as confirmation of a Certificate of Occupancy and compliance, a license will be issued. 
 

Renewals (submit at least 60 days prior to expiration)


If you need to renew your license, please use the Renewal Application Form the State mails to you 60 to 90 days before your license expires, or use the form linked below.
  
The applicant must submit to the Town Clerk's Office:
 

Modifications, changes, manager changes, Tavern Conversions*


All changes must be reported to the Town and to the State.
 
The applicant must submit to the Town Clerk's Office:

     Form DR8442, requested attachments, and fees to the Town.
 
* NOTE: Changes with HB16-1439 allow for Taverns to convert to another type of license with no fee before August 10, 2017.  After that date, Tavern licenses will not be issued or transferred that do not meet the definition of a Tavern.
 
Location changes
The applicant must submit to the Town Clerk's Office:
  • Complete application Form DR8442
  • Provide new lease agreement
  • Provide a Diagram 8 1/2" x 11" of Licensed Premise marked as follows (all levels if applicable):  
    • Dimensions
    • Exits
    • Kitchen area
    • Liquor storage area
    • Outdoor areas including fences, etc.
    • Outline entire area that is to be licensed in BOLD
  • Submit Fees - $150 to the State and $500 to the Town of Castle Rock

The new location will be posted for a public hearing for a date at least 30 days from the date your complete application is submitted.

 Prior to the hearing, the applicant:

  • Must submit a petition and report for the district in which the business is located
  • Should complete TIPS training for all servers
These petition companies are frequently used for your information if you wish to use them:
  • Oedipus, Inc., 303-661-0638
  • Liquor Licensing Professionals, 719-390-8844, email
  • Esquire Petitioning Services, 303-331-8600, email
Upon approval by the Liquor Licensing Authority and the Colorado Department of Revenue as well as confirmation of a certificate of occupancy and compliance, a license will be issued. 
 

Corporate changes

All changes must be reported to the Town and to the State.
The applicant must submit to the Town Clerk's Office:
    Form DR8177, requested attachments, and fees to the Town.
 

Special event permits for liquor 


For events on non-Town property, streets, or parks, etc.

 30 days prior to your event:



Town Clerk's Office:
 
  • Special Event Liquor Permit Application
  • Questionnaire
  • Diagram 8 ½”x11” showing dimensions, exits, outlining boundaries, type of boundary/signs
  • Contract for use of premise
  • Insurance certificate with Town named as additional insured with Liquor rider
  • Security contract (must contract with Police for public events or if held on public property or facilities when alcohol is served - email)
  • Contract with beverage service (required if at Miller Park - email)
  • TIPS certification for all servers if beverage service not used (see list of instructors below)
  • Certificate of Good Standing for Non-Profit issued by Secretary of State (obtain from their website - Non Profit Search)
  • Political candidates - copies of reports and statements filed with the Secretary of State. 
  • Appropriate Fee ($25 for malt, vinous and spirituous liquor/$10 for 3.2% beer)

For events on public property, streets, or facilities:



 Town Clerk's Office: 
  • Submit forms noted above 
Online application:

Known TIPS instructors:


  • Flying Horse Catering, 303-688-4321, email
  • Oedipus, Inc., 303-661-0638
  • Liquor Licensing Professionals, 719-390-8844, email
  • Esquire Petitioning Services, 303-331-8600, email

A Special Event Permit authorizes: 
 
  • The sale of alcohol beverages at a private event, or
  • The sale or serving of alcohol beverages to the public
  • Private, invitation-only events on private property serving complimentary alcohol do not require a permit to serve alcohol
  • You must always obtain a permit if you are selling alcohol (or if there is an admission or ticket price that includes alcohol)
  • You must always obtain a permit if the event is open to the public, whether you are selling the alcohol or giving it away
  • You may not hold a Special Event Liquor Permit on a premise that currently has a liquor license (you cannot license over an existing license)

Important to remember:

  • Food or snacks must be available for purchase or complimentary
  • Security contract is required if your event is on public property, streets, parks
  • Inspection of mobile vendors by the Fire department is required  
  • TIPS training is required for those responsible for serving alcohol
  • Each non-profit is limited to holding 15 events per year in Colorado
Two types of Special Event Permits:
  •  Sale of malt, vinous, and spirituous liquor - $25 per day payable to the Town of Castle Rock
  •  Sale of 3.2 percent beer- $10 per day payable to the Town of Castle Rock
 Applicants for Special Event Permits must be one of the following:
  • Non-profit incorporated pursuant to Colorado law for purposes of a social, fraternal, patriotic, political, or athletic nature 
  • Regularly non-profit chartered branch, lodge or chapter of national organization or society
  • Regularly established religious or philanthropic institution 
  • Political candidate who has filed the necessary reports with the Colorado Secretary of State 
  • Municipality-owned arts facilities at which productions of an artistic or cultural nature are held
  • Organizations are limited to holding 15 events per year in the State of Colorado.

Tasting permits

The Town also approves all tastings permits locally. Retail liquor stores may conduct up to 104 tastings at their store per year with dates that run concurrently with their license with no more than four in one week, between the hours of 11 a.m. and 7 p.m. Any changes must be provided to the Town Clerk at least 72 hours in advance.

To read all regulations and limitations, see Chapter 2.17.110 in the Municipal Code
  
The applicant must submit to the Town Clerk's Office: