News and Announcements

News and Announcements

Posted on: November 16, 2018

Unofficial Castle Rock election results finalized


Final unofficial vote totals are in, and Jason Gray is Castle Rock’s Mayor-elect.

More than 27,000 residents cast votes in that race – the community’s first Mayoral election in about 30 years.

The final unofficial results are:

Jason E. Gray:            11,061

Randy A. Reed:          11,004

Charles Fletcher III:      5,003

The results are outside the margin for an automatic recount, Douglas County announced Thursday.

In addition to the office of Mayor, two Town Council seats were up for election this year. The final unofficial vote totals in those races are:

District 3                                                        District 5

Kathy Redmond:         1,619                           Max Brooks:                1,216

Kevin Bracken:           1,931                           Caryn Johnson:           1,791

Tanya R. Relyea:           743                           Wayne Harlos:               959

Election results will be certified Nov. 26, at which point they become official.

Biographical information about Mayor Gray and Councilmembers Bracken and Johnson will be posted to following their swearing-in on Dec. 4. Also on Dec. 4, Council will select a Mayor Pro Tem, who acts as the Mayor in the Mayor’s absence. Like all Council meetings, that meeting is open to the public and begins at 6 p.m. in Council Chambers at Town Hall, 100 N. Wilcox St.

As in earlier election results, the final unofficial results show that the seven Town Charter amendments Town Council had placed on the ballot – generally related to electing Castle Rock’s Mayor at-large – all passed at anywhere from 69 percent to 88 percent approval. View those questions and the final unofficial vote totals for them at

Get Town news straight to your inbox. Sign up online at, or follow the Town on Facebook (, Twitter (@CRgov) and LinkedIn (search Town of Castle Rock).