- Castle Rock Police
- How Do I?
- Registered Sex Offenders
Registered Sex Offenders
Douglas County Sex Offender List
Access the Douglas County sex offender list.
Colorado Sex Offender Registry
The Colorado sex offender registry names sex offenders who are required by law to register and who are complying with those laws. Sex offender registry information is made available so residents can better protect themselves and their children from known sex offenders. However, the most dangerous sex offender is the one not yet known to local law enforcement. Residents should not rely on the sex offender registry as a safeguard against sexual assault; crime convictions may not accurately reflect risk levels.
Every Castle Rock resident may request the sex offender registration list from the Castle Rock Police Department. To get a copy, residents must show proof of residence, sign an educational Sex Offender Registry advisement form, and agree not to disseminate the list.
The cost is $5, which helps support Castle Rock's sex offender registration program. The list can be obtained at the Castle Rock Police Department during regular business hours. You also may access the Douglas County sex offender list online.
In Your Community
If you find a sex offender living in your neighborhood, it's important to recognize that registered sex offenders are following the law and are helping the community by doing so. Harassing offenders is strictly prohibited and could force offenders to break the law and go underground, where they could no longer be monitored.
Approximately 65% of all convicted sex offenders in Colorado are placed back into the community. Castle Rock's sex offender registry list averages 55 to 65 people at a time, similar to averages in other communities. Please be aware that there are no community notification requirements when a sex offender moves into a neighborhood unless they are listed as a sexually violent predator.
Sexually Violent Predators
Very few of Colorado's sex offenders are classified as sexually violent predators. However, every community faces the reality that someday, a sexually violent predator may move in. If that happens, the Police Department, by law, will engage in an extensive sexually violent predator neighborhood notification process. Notification will include, but not be limited to, written door-to-door notification within 10 business days of court notification and a neighborhood information meeting.
Town Council in February 2011 passed an ordinance, prohibiting sexually violent predators from living within 1,000 feet of certain places where children commonly congregate:
- Bus stops
- Licensed daycares
- Public pools
- Recreation centers
- Walk-to-school routes
The law took effect on March 10, 2011. It contains exceptions: if the restricted place opens after the offender established residence and for offenders under age 18 living with parents or placed under a state foster care program.
The restrictions only affect where sex offenders may live - not where they may visit. Additionally, responsibility for matters such as sex offender treatment and overall management lies with probation, corrections, and court officials and is not up to the Town to regulate.
State law requires the Colorado Department of Corrections to release sexually violent predators into the county in which they were convicted. The Corrections Department will have to follow the Town's residency restrictions when considering offender placement within Douglas County.